Next Author: Clive Woodall
Previous Author: Gene Wolfe

Veronica Wolff

Veronica WolffVeronica Wolff is an award-winning, bestselling author with a soft spot for kilts (she also writes Highlands Romances), mountains, beaches, and vampires. Not necessarily at the same time. She lived everywhere from Texas, to Hawaii, to India, before finally settling in Northern California, where she lives with her husband, two kids, one insane rescue dog, one angelic rescue dog, the gentlest cat ever, and a snake whose days are numbered. Learn more at Veronica Wolff’s website.

Watchers

Watchers — (2011-2013) Young adult. Publisher: Is life offering fewer and fewer options? Then join the dead. When Annelise meets dark and seductive Ronan, he promises her a new life — if she has the courage to chance the unknown. Now, she’s whisked away to a mysterious island and pitted against other female recruits to become a Watcher — girls who are partnered with vampires and assist them in their missions. To survive and become a Watcher, Annelise has to beat out every other girl, but she’s determined to do so, because to fail doesn’t mean dishonor — it means death.

young adult fantasy book reviews Veronica Wolff Watchers 1. Isle of Night 2. Vampire's Kiss young adult fantasy book reviews Veronica Wolff Watchers 1. Isle of Night 2. Vampire's Kiss young adult fantasy book reviews Veronica Wolff Watchers 1. Isle of Night 2. Vampire's Kiss 3. Blood Feverfantasy and science fiction book reviewsfantasy and science fiction book reviews

Isle of Night: Read The Hunger Games instead

Readers’ average rating:

Isle of Night by Veronica Wolff

Isle of Night is the first in a new young adult paranormal series, The Watchers. Author Veronica Wolff attempts to combine several hot fiction trends into Isle of Night: vampires, boarding school, catty mean girls, and a scenario in which teens are forced to fight to the death.

Annelise Drew, who goes by her last name, is looking forward to escaping her abusive home life and going to college. When she gets to school, though, an issue has arisen with her high school credits and she’s unable to enroll. Drew is unsure what to do next. In swoops hunky Ronan, who convinces her to leave the country with him. He’s recruiting for a very different kind of school. Located on a remote island north of Scotland, it trains young women to become Watchers, which might be described as secretaries-slas... Read More

More speculative fiction by Veronica Wolff

Highlands — (2008-2009) Publisher: A modern woman finds true love across the ocean-and across time. A fabulous debut for fans of Diana Gabaldon and Karen Marie Moning. Lily Hamlin is making a pilgrimage to Scotland with hopes for some direction in her life. There she discovers an overgrown maze and a strange stone map-and lands back in time, in the Lochaber of 1654. Ewen, Chief of the Clan Cameron, must save his people from the brutal redcoats. But then he meets a saucy lass with a peculiar accent, no regard for his title — and an arousing body. Drawn to each other despite their differences, they both realize that they don’t want her to go back to her own time. But with battles brewing, staying is a gamble.

Veronica Wolff 1. Master of the Highlands 2. Sword of the Highlands 3. Warrior of the Highlands 4. Lord of the HighlandsVeronica Wolff 1. Master of the Highlands 2. Sword of the Highlands 3. Warrior of the Highlands 4. Lord of the HighlandsVeronica Wolff 1. Master of the Highlands 2. Sword of the Highlands 3. Warrior of the Highlands 4. Lord of the HighlandsVeronica Wolff 1. Master of the Highlands 2. Sword of the Highlands 3. Warrior of the Highlands 4. Lord of the Highlands