Next Author: Pierce Brown
Previous Author: Graham Brown

John D. Brown

(1966- )
John D. Brown is a prize-winning short story writer and novelist. His epic fantasy series begins with Servant of a Dark God. He currently lives with his wife and four daughters in the hinterlands of Utah where one encounters much fresh air, many good-hearted ranchers, and an occasional wolf. Read excerpts at John D. Brown’s website.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE BOOKS BY JOHN D. BROWN.

Dark God

Dark God — (2009-2014) Publisher: A spirited blacksmith’s daughter accused of using the dark and terrifying sleth magic. The young man who hunts her. And the ferocious monster who only wants to be free. Trapped in a web of lies and ancient secrets, of right becoming wrong, the three must struggle not only against each other, but also a being of irresistible powers, a creature who is gathering her servants to usher in the impending human harvest. If the three succeed, they will save those they love the most. If they fail, the clans of the land fall with them. Thus begins the towering fantasy series that introduces an elaborate new world, a multifaceted system of magic, and a cast of compelling characters and creatures.

fantasy book reviews science fiction book reviewsfantasy book reviews science fiction book reviewsfantasy book reviews science fiction book reviews

Servant: Better-than-average traditional epic fantasy

Readers’ average rating:

Servant by John D. Brown

Editor's Note: This review is for the original version of Servant which was, back in 2009, titled Servant of a Dark God.

CLASSIFICATION: Servant of a Dark God is a mostly traditional epic fantasy novel in the vein of David Farland, Greg Keyes, and James Clemens, with elements of Brandon Sanderson, David Keck, and Read More