Next Author: Sam J. Miller
Previous Author: Frank Miller

Karen Miller

Karen Miller fantasy authorKaren Miller was born in Vancouver, Canada, but was raised in Sydney, Australia where she still lives today. She wanted to be a writer from early childhood, but that took some time to happen. While she was waiting she worked as a public servant, a receptionist, in the horse industry, in local government, in publishing, in telecommunications, as a college lecturer and ran her own science fiction/fantasy/mystery bookshop. She fell in love with Star Wars when she saw it on the big screen, the very first time it was released in 1977. That love affair has lasted her whole life. So far she’s written six mainstream fantasy novels and two Stargate SG-1 tie-ins. Read news and excerpts at Karen Miller’s website.
Karen Miller also writes fantasy under the name K.E. Mills.


Kingmaker, Kingbreaker & Fisherman’s Children

Kingmaker, Kingbreaker & Fisherman’s Children — (2005-2011) The Awakened Mage is also published as Innocence Lost. The Prodigal Mage begins a sequel series called Fisherman’s Children. Publisher: “The Innocent Mage is come, and we stand at the beginning of the end of everything.” Being a fisherman like his father isn’t a bad life, but it’s not the one that Asher wants. Despite his humble roots, Asher has grand dreams. And they call him to Dorana, home of princes, beggars, and the warrior mages who have protected the kingdom for generations. Little does Asher know, however, that his arrival in the city is being closely watched by members of the Circle, people dedicated to preserving an ancient magic. Asher might have come to the city to make his fortune, but he will find his destiny.

Karen Miller fantasy book reviews Kingmaker, Kingbreaker: 1. The Innocent Mage 2. The Awakened MageKaren Miller fantasy book reviews Kingmaker, Kingbreaker: 1. The Innocent Mage 2. The Awakened Mage 3. The Prodigal MageKaren Miller fantasy book reviews Kingmaker, Kingbreaker: 1. The Innocent Mage 2. The Awakened Mage 3. The Prodigal Mage 2. The Reluctant Mage, A Blight of MagesKaren Miller fantasy book reviews Kingmaker, Kingbreaker: 1. The Innocent Mage 2. The Awakened Mage 3. The Prodigal Mage 2. The Reluctant MageKaren Miller fantasy book reviews Kingmaker, Kingbreaker: 1. The Innocent Mage 2. The Awakened Mage 3. The Prodigal Mage 2. The Reluctant Mage

See these series at Amazon.

The Innocent Mage: Fairly enjoyable fantasy

The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller

In the UK Orbit is the largest Science Fiction and Fantasy publisher, responsible for bringing readers such authors as Robert Jordan, Terry Brooks, Orson Scott Card, Laurell K. Hamilton, Tad Williams, J.V. Jones, R. Scott Bakker, etc. In September 2007, Orbit made its US debut thanks to Read More

The Awakened Mage: Much darker

The Awakened Mage by Karen Miller

One theme drives the plot of Karen Miller’s The Awakened Mage, sequel to The Innocent Mage: friendship. That friendship is exemplified in the sometimes tenuous, but always interesting friendship between Gar and Asher. In the first novel, the two formed an unlikely pair. Gar is a magickless prince, unable to serve as King of Lur, since the King is also the WeatherWorker and maintainer of Barl’s Wall, the only thing keeping the evil of Morg at bay. And there is Asher, the intelligent and wily fisherman, who only seeks to serve the kingdom and his friend.

The story of The Awakened Mage (also called Innocence Lost) picks up where its predecessor left off, not wasting text space on retelling the story, as it is assumed the reader already knows all the events that have led to this... Read More


Godspeaker — (2007-2009)  Empress is also published as Empress of Mijak. Publisher: When a scrawny unwanted girl is sold into slavery, a chain of events is set in motion that will have a profound impact on all the civilized world. Hekat is taken in chains to Mijak’s largest city, home of the warlord Raklion. She is sold into his service and learns all she can about power — its wielding and its uses — as she fetches and carries and cleans and serves. She grows into a beautiful woman, and through ambition and manipulation Hekat becomes powerful enough to take over the rulership of Mijak… and then sets about making it into the greatest Empire ever known.

Karen Miller Godspeaker: 1. Empress 2. The Riven KingdomKaren Miller Godspeaker: 1. Empress 2. The Riven Kingdomfantasy book reviews science fiction book reviews

See this series at Amazon.

Empress: Bloody, violent, and creative

Empress by Karen Miller

Karen Miller’s novel, Empress is shockingly different from her previous duology, Kingmaker, Kingbreaker. Empress shows us the rise of a barbarian warlord in a culture like the ancient Assyrian or Babylonian empires, with their city states that eventual become powerful nations. The society of Mikak is violent, worshipping a scorpion god who craves bloody ritual sacrifice. The godspeakers are the only people who are able to hear the god. They perform sacrifices and are a police force and a political entity separate from the warlord’s control. But Hekat, a runaway slave girl, upsets that balance when she discovers that she can hear the god as well. Believing herself special, Hekat begins a slow climb up the soc... Read More

Magazine Monday: Grimdark Magazine, Issue Two

The opening story of Issue 2 of Grimdark Magazine, “The Line” by T.R. Napper, presents a picture in nobility. You might not think that at first, as the tale concerns George, a wrestler who makes a practice of breaking his opponents’ bones; but, you soon learn, that’s the least harm he can do to end a match. George is so good at his game that his wins come to seem too easy, and that’s where danger seeps in. The thoroughly corrupt regime that runs the “free zones” — places that seem anything but free to the majority of those who live and work there — has plans for George. What will George do in the face of the implacable foe ironically called Hope Corporation? The story is predictable and manipulative, but nonetheless somehow exhilarating and, at the same time, depressing to read. I’m curious to see what Napper will do as his writing experience and skills grow.

Aaron Fox-Lerner’s “Drone Str... Read More

Great Bookstores: Galaxy Bookshop in Sydney, Australia

Thanks to all the authors who've written in to tell us about the great bookstores they've been visiting! This week we hear from Janny Wurts and Karen Miller who wanted us to know about Galaxy Bookshop in Sydney Australia.

Galaxy Bookshop was established in 1975 and is an independent bookseller owned and operated by Abbey's Bookshop (also independent). They focus exclusively on science fiction, fantasy, horror and paranormal romance genres.  Most of their books are US imports of titles that don't have local distribution or whose author doesn't have a deal with a UK publisher. Mark Timmony, the store manager, says that the Galaxy staff reads the books they sell and are pass... Read More