Next Author: Manuel Gonzales
Previous Author: William Goldman

Lisa Goldstein

Lisa Goldstein Isabel Glass(1953- )
Lisa Goldstein, who also writes under the name Isabel Glass, writes historical fantasy and magic-realism. She has won the American book award and has been nominated for several other prestigious awards. She lives in a 90-year-old house in Oakland with her husband Doug and her dog Spark. You can read excerpts of her novels at Lisa Goldstein’s website.

The Uncertain Places: The quieter style of contemporary fantasy

Readers’ average rating:

The Uncertain Places by Lisa Goldstein

The Uncertain Places by Lisa Goldstein is the story of a family haunted by a long-ago pact with the fairies. Like all fairy tales, it’s also a story about human problems, so it’s easy to find yourself within these pages even if mysterious beings have never cleaned your house in the middle of the night.

In 1971, Berkeley students Will and Ben go to visit the eccentric Feierabend family who live in a rambling house in Napa Valley. Ben is dating the eldest Feierabend sister, Maddie, and wants to introduce Will to the second sister, Livvy. Will thinks Ben’s trying to palm off a less attractive “pale shadow” of Maddie, but when he meets Livvy, he’s smitten. As their relationship grows, so do the mysteries surrounding the Feierabends — and then something terrible occurs and Will must outwit the fair... Read More

Magazine Monday: Realms of Fantasy, April 2011

Readers’ average rating:

The April 2011 issue of Realms of Fantasy is identified as a “Special Dark Fantasy Issue.” The nifty cover illustration by Brom fits the theme perfectly. And there’s lots more Brom inside, including an interview by Karen Haber and a considerable number of examples of his work. This is a man who must use up his blue, gray, red and black paints with considerable speed -- but he never seems to use up his imagination.

The best story in this issue is about the Cthulhu Mythos, which has really been enjoying a renaissance these days. “The Strange Case of Madelein H. March (Ages 14-1/4)” by Von Carr is that rarity in fantasy, a story intended to be funny that actually will make you laugh. Maddie has been left in charge of the family home while her parents and her elder sister go... Read More

Real Unreal: Best American Fantasy 3: New authors for my watch list!

Readers’ average rating:

Real Unreal: Best American Fantasy 3 edited by Kevin Brockmeier

On a hypothetical chart, with high epic fantasy in the vein of J.R.R. Tolkien and Stephen Donaldson on one end and (for want of a better term) the magical realism of Gabriel García Marquez and Graham Joyce on the other, the twenty stories in the excellent Real Unreal: Best American Fantasy 3 fall, for the most part, close to or smack on the latter extreme of the scale. If you then add a y-axis, describing how pulpy a story is, everything in this collection would trend towards the end of the scale where the most accomplis... Read More

More books by Lisa Goldstein

Lisa Goldstein The Red Magician, The Dream Years, Tourists, Stranges Devices of the Sun and MoonThe Red Magician — (1981)  Won the 1983 American Book Award. Publisher: On the eve of World War II, a young, red-haired magician who calls himself Vörös arrives in a small Hungarian village, prophesying death and destruction. The only one to believe him is thirteen-year-old Kicsi. She tries to help him warn the villagers, but the local rabbi, who also possesses magical powers, frustrates their attempts. Then the Nazis come, and everyone in the village, including Kicsi and her family, are sent to concentration camps. Can the power of Vörös, the Red Magician, help them survive? The Red Magician is a notable work of Holocaust literature, as well as a marvelously entertaining fantasy that is wise and transcendent. Lisa Goldstein The Red Magician, The Dream Years, Tourists, Stranges Devices of the Sun and Moon


The Dream Years — (1985) Publisher: A young Parisian surrealist writer and a beautiful, mysterious woman with whom he falls in love, are transported in time from the 1920s to the volatile time of the 1968 Paris riots.


Lisa Goldstein A Mask for the GeneralA Mask for the General — (1987) Library Journal: Five years after the economic collapse of the United States, the masked tribespeople of Berkeley retain a precarious hold on individual and intellectual freedom until two womenLayla the maskmaker and a newcomer called Marytake an unprecedented risk to bring down the totalitarian rule of America’s dictator, a man known as The General. In transplanting the consciousness of the 1960s to the near-future, the author of Dream Years has created a brilliant parable of nonviolent revolution.


fantasy and science fiction book reviewsTourists — (1989) Publisher: In a faraway land called Amaz, a family whose ordinary appearance masks hidden conflicts discovers things that change them forever.


Lisa Goldstein The Red Magician, The Dream Years, Tourists, Stranges Devices of the Sun and MoonStrange Devices of the Sun and Moon — (1993)  Publisher: Strange Devices of the Sun and Moon is set in an imaginative recreation of Elizabethan London, a rich, intense city overflowing with life and action, a city of spies and booksellers, alchemists and playwrights, poets, witches, plague and salvation. A series of strange events links the lives of an ordinary woman, a bookseller in St. Paul’s, and the great writer Christopher Marlowe, as the Faerie Queen and her court invade London in search of the Queen’s son, the reborn King Arthur. Marlowe must become in effect a detective, and Alice, strangely favored by the fairies, must become a heroine in a struggle against evil forces. The culmination of this extraordinary fantasy, a battle between the opposing dragons of good and evil, is certainly one of the most weird and enchanting events in all contemporary fantasy. Strange Devices of the Sun and Moon is a big, delicious fantasy adventure filled with strange creatures and ordinary people, famous characters, and mysterious historical doings. It is a triumph of entertainment and one of the finest fantasy novels of the decade.


Lisa Goldstein Isabel Glass The Alchemist's Door, Dark Cities Underground, Walking the Labyrinth, Summer King Winter FoolSummer King, Winter Fool — (1994)  Publisher: When the god of summer falls in love with the human world and refuses to let the seasons change, Valemar, a young courtier, begins an unwilling quest that leads him to magic, love, and a throne.


fantasy and science fiction book reviewsTravellers in Magic — (1994)  Publisher: Travellers in Magic brings together for the first time all of Goldstein’s short fiction, including “Cassandra’s Photographs”, nominated for both the Hugo and Nebula Awards, and several other works that were included in various best-of-the-year anthologies.

Lisa Goldstein Isabel Glass The Alchemist's Door, Dark Cities Underground, Walking the Labyrinth, Summer King Winter Fool


Walking the Labyrinth — (1996)  Publisher: Lisa Goldstein weaves an enchanting tale of contemporary magical realism as only she can do. “Walking the Labyrinth” is a novel of many questions and many more answers, the story of one woman’s struggle to separate truth from illusion as she discovers family secrets that will change her life forever.


Lisa Goldstein Isabel Glass The Alchemist's Door, Dark Cities Underground, Walking the Labyrinth, Summer King Winter FoolDark Cities Underground — (1999)  Publisher: A young journalist is sent to interview a man who, as a child, was the central character of a series of classic children’s books written by his mother. But the man’s scary, fantastic world is real — and they are sucked them in to strange adventures underground, where love and death threaten.Lisa Goldstein Isabel Glass The Alchemist's Door, Dark Cities Underground, Walking the Labyrinth, Summer King Winter Fool


The Alchemist’s Door — (2002)  Publisher: Fleeing to Prague to escape a demon attack, sixteenth-century alchemist and astrologer John Dee assists a mystic rabbi in the creation of a clay Golem that will defend the city’s Jewish Quarter and help prevent the fulfillment of a terrible prophecy.


CLICK HERE FOR MORE BY LISA GOLDSTEIN.