Next Author: Fredrik Brouneus
Previous Author: Terry Brooks

Lanie Bross

Lanie BrossLanie was born and raised in a very small town in MidCoast Maine where she spent countless hours exploring the woods around the farm where she lived, and playing dress up with her grandma’s suede boots. She even had a stubborn pinto pony named Magic. She left small town life after high school graduation, seeking bigger and better things, but quite honestly, the city life was not for her. She yearned for fresh air and space to roam, and she found her way back home fifteen years later, this time with a husband and two young boys in tow. Now she lives in her grandparents old house, on a dirt road, in the same small town she grew up in. It’s poetic, which makes her smile as she sips coffee staring at nothing but trees outside the window. FATES is Lanie’s debut YA novel.

Fates

Fates — (2014-2015) Destined is a prequel. Publisher: Perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Julie Kagawa, Rachel Vincent, and Sarah J. Maas, and for girls who love all things pretty, romantic and inspirational. One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything. She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people’s fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home. But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again–this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

fantasy book reviews science fiction book reviewsfantasy book reviews science fiction book reviewsfantasy book reviews science fiction book reviews

Fates: Too many of the usual YA tropes, but lots of potential

Readers’ average rating:

Fates by Lanie Bross

Vampires are everywhere in teen fiction, but recently some authors have ventured outside fangland and explored a more diverse assortment of supernatural beings. And so we have Fates by Lanie Bross, a novel about, well, Fates. I was a little sad when I realized Bross’s Fates didn’t bear much resemblance to the Greek Fates, just because I’m a sucker for classical mythology, but nonetheless I was eager to see what Bross did with the concept. The gorgeous cover art didn’t hurt a bit either.

The two central characters are fine, in and of themselves. The heroine, Corinthe, was once a Fate and lived in the ethereal world of Pyralis, where she and her sister Fates were responsible for making sure people’s destines played out like they were supposed to. But Corinthe made a mistake, and for that was banished from Pyralis and is now living in Humana (Earth). She loo... Read More