Next Author: Michael Crichton
Previous Author: Carolyn Crane

Andrea Cremer

Andrea CremerAndrea Cremer spent her childhood daydreaming while roaming the forests and lakeshores of Northern Wisconsin. She now lives in Minnesota, but she thinks of her homeland as the “Canadian Shield” rather than the Midwest. Andrea has always loved writing and has never stopped writing, but she only recently plunged into the deep end of the pool that is professional writing. When she’s not writing, Andrea teaches history at a liberal arts college in St. Paul. Learn more at Andrea Cremer’s website.

Nightshade

Nightshade — (2010-2013) Young adult. Publisher: Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she’ll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters’ laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything — including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

Nightshade novels:
YA fantasy book reviews Andrea Cremer Witches War 1. NightshadeYA fantasy book reviews Andrea Cremer Witches War 1. Nightshade 2. Wolfsbanefantasy and science fiction book reviewsfantasy and science fiction book reviews

Nightshade prequels:
fantasy and science fiction book reviewsfantasy and science fiction book reviews

Nightshade novellas:
fantasy and science fiction book reviewsfantasy and science fiction book reviewsfantasy and science fiction book reviewsfantasy and science fiction book reviews

Nightshade: A thought-provoking YA paranormal series

Readers’ average rating:

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Nightshade is yet another addition to the burgeoning YA paranormal genre, but stands out for several reasons, including its creative premise. It centers on the Guardians (essentially werewolves but with a few vampire traits as well), who are powerful compared to humans but are themselves enslaved by a race of witches called the Keepers. The Keepers rule most of the world from behind the scenes. But in Vail, where 17-year-old Guardian Calla Tor lives, their dominance is overt.

All I knew going in was that this was a werewolf novel with a love triangle, and it took me a while to catch on to the world-building. So in an early scene where snooty Lumine Nightshade (a Keeper) talks to Calla about her upcoming arranged marriage to Ren, a fellow Guardian, I somehow thought Lumine was Calla’s grandmother. Then I realized the truth was even w... Read More

More by Andrea Cremer

fantasy and science fiction book reviewsInvisibility — (2013) With David Levithan. Publisher: A magical romance between a boy cursed with invisibility and the one girl who can see him, by New York Times bestselling authors Andrea Cremer and David Levithan. Stephen is used to invisibility. He was born that way. Invisible. Cursed. Elizabeth sometimes wishes for invisibility. When you’re invisible, no one can hurt you. So when her mother decides to move the family to New York City, Elizabeth is thrilled. It’s easy to blend in there. Then Stephen and Elizabeth meet. To Stephen’s amazement, she can see him. And to Elizabeth’s amazement, she wants him to be able to see her — all of her. But as the two become closer, an invisible world gets in their way — a world of grudges and misfortunes, spells and curses. And once they’re thrust into this world, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how deep they’re going to go — because the answer could mean the difference between love and death.


The Inventor’s Secret — (began in 2014) Publisher: New from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure. In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks. The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners, Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel, ScottWesterfeld’s Leviathan and Phillip Reeve’s Mortal Instruments.