Next Author: G. Willow Wilson
Previous Author: Colin Wilson

David Niall Wilson

David Niall Wilson(1959- )
David Niall Wilson
has been writing dark fiction, fantasy, and science-fiction since the mid-eighties. He is an ordained minister, was once President of the Horror Writer’s Association, and received the Bram Stoker Award for poetry and short fiction. He lives with his wife and kids in North Carolina. Here’s David Niall Wilson’s website.


The DeChance Chronicle

The DeChance Chronicles — (2009-2013) Publisher: Donovan DeChance is a collector of ancient manuscripts and books, a practicing mage, and a private investigator. When, despite the finest in natural and supernatural security, a sexy and well-loved, three hundred year old lady vampire is kidnapped right out from under her lover’s nose, Donovan is called in to investigate. He soon finds that there is much more to the case than a simple abduction when an unknown intruder invades his home and steals a very rare, very ancient manuscript.  There will be no ransom for the kidnap victim, and if Donovan doesn’t prevent an ancient, forbidden ritual from reaching its culmination, far more than a single vampire’s undead existence will be at stake. Calling on his lover and partner, Amethyst, and an odd assortment of contacts, informants, and connections, Donovan follows the ghostly trail of the kidnapper through a winding maze of intrigue — always a step behind — through magical battles, murders, and confrontations with a rogue band of young vampires intent on beating Donovan at his own game. Vintage Soul is a dark urban supernatural mystery with a hint of romance. Set in an underground society, a city within the city of San Valencez, California, it opens portals to the unknown darkness that surrounds us.  Fast-paced, strewn with clues, investigation, and magic, this is a book sure to slake the appetites of fans of mystery and the supernatural. Welcome to the darkness; welcome to VINTAGE SOUL — Book One of The DeChance Chronicles.

David Niall Wilson The DeChance Chronicles 1. Vintage Soul David Niall Wilson The DeChance Chronicles 1. Vintage Soul 2. Heart of a Dragon 3. David Niall Wilson The DeChance Chronicles 1. Vintage Soul 2. Heart of a Dragon 3. My Soul to KeepDavid Niall Wilson The DeChance Chronicles 1. Vintage Soul 2. Heart of a Dragon 3. My Soul to Keep 4. Kali's Talefantasy and science fiction book reviews

Vintage Soul: First of what should be a good series

Vintage Soul by David Niall Wilson

Vintage Soul by David Niall Wilson is a well-written short novel billed as the first in The DeChance Chronicles. Wilson is the winner of the Bram Stoker award for his horror stories, and it’s clear from the start that Vintage Soul was written by a master wordsmith. I particularly enjoyed reading the indulgent setting of the opening party scene in which a powerful vampire is kidnapped right in front of her guests. The vampires call upon mage and investigator DeChance, an excellent gumshoe character who — through a series of adventures and with help from a small cast of interesting friends — solves the crime.

What’s not to like? Two things made me rate this novel lower than it would otherwise have merited on the strength of the writing and characters. First, ... Read More