Next Author: Suzanne Selfors
Previous Author: Ekaterina Sedia

Adrian Selby

Born and raised in Barry, South Wales, Adrian Selby studied creative writing and philosophy at university before embarking on a career in videogames. He has worked for several big-name studios as a producer. He lives with his family on the south coast of England.

Snakewood: Interesting premise that needs more work

Readers’ average rating:

Snakewood by Adrian Selby

I picked up Adrian Selby’s debut novel, Snakewood, after hearing a lot of good things about the book. Promising a dark world of realpolitik in the tradition of Glen Cook, Snakewood tells the story of the company once known as Kailen’s Twenty. While the company is long disbanded, many of its members still live and thrive in various occupations, until they turn up with throats slit and a black, stone coin on their bodies — the mark of a traitor. Spooked by these occurrences, former company leader Kailen begins calling his soldiers back to his side both to protect them and to discover the truth behind the murders. It’s a fascinating story, but the execution in Snakewood leaves a lot to be desired.
Read More