Next Author: Tim (T.A.) Pratt
Previous Author: Terry Pratchett

Fletcher Pratt

Fletcher Pratt is best known for the Harold Shea series he wrote with L. Sprague deCamp. He also wrote a couple of stand-alone fantasies, some science fiction, and nonfiction (especially naval and war histories).

Harold Shea (Enchanter) Stories

Harold Shea (Enchanter) Stories — (1940-1995) Light fantasy co-authored with Fletcher Pratt. The Compleat Enchanter contains the original Harold Shea stories written by de Camp and Pratt. The Mathematics of Magic, published in 2007, contains the originals plus the later (1990s) stories written by de Camp after Pratt’s death. YOU DON’T NEED BOTH BOOKS. Publisher: Harold Shea is a psychologist who dreams of adventure, but never gets beyond learning to fence and occasionally showing up at staff meetings dressed in horseback riding garb. But when he learns that his boss, Dr. Reed Chalmers, has developed a theory which allows a person to transport himself to any world he can imagine, Harold Shea decides to give it a whirl. This volume includes all the De Camp and Pratt Enchanter stories.

l sprague de camp fletcher pratt compleat enchanterl sprague de camp fletcher pratt the mathematics of magic

The Mathematics of Magic: The Enchanter Stories of de Camp and Pratt

The Mathematics of Magic: The Enchanter Stories of de Camp and Pratt

Back in the 1940s and 1950s, L. Sprague de Camp and Fletcher Pratt co-wrote five fantasy stories about psychologist Harold Shea and his colleagues for the pulp magazines. The Mathematics of Magic: The Enchanter Stories of de Camp and Pratt collects all five of these original Enchanter stories, plus an introduction by Christopher Stasheff (who edited many of the later Enchanter stories written by other authors), an article written by de Camp about Fletcher Pratt and their collaboration, two additional Enchanter Read More

Land of Unreason: A very strange book

Land of Unreason by L. Sprague de Camp & Fletcher Pratt

Land of Unreason first saw the light of day in 1941, in a shorter form, in Unknown magazine; it was later expanded to novel length. Just as there is a genre of science fiction known as "hard" sci-fi, as typified by the works of Hal Clement and Larry Niven, this novel impresses me as a "hard" fantasy novel. Not only do authors L. Sprague de Camp and Fletcher Pratt usher us into Fairyland and show us the court of Oberon and Titania, but also all manner of elves, sprites, nymphs, fairies, ogres, kobolds and the like; even a leprechaun and a unicorn are thrown into the mix.

This journey into the fantastic begins when Fred Barber — an American ... Read More

More books by Fletcher Pratt

The Well of the Unicorn, The Blue Star, Land of Unreason, The Carnelian CubeThe Well of the Unicorn — (1948) Publisher: Robbed of lands and heritage by the rapacious Vulkings, young Airar Alvarson had only his limited gift for sorcery to aid him against a world of savage intrigues. Then he met a mysterious sorcerer and was given a strange iron ring —a ring that led him into a futile conspiracy and soon had him fleeing for his life. Driven by enchantments and destiny, he found himself leading a band of warriors against the mighty empire of the Vulkings. With him was a warrior maid who mocked him while she sought to serve by fair means or foul. Then he met the Imperial Princess who preached the peace of the Well but it soon became apparent she would bring him only turmoil and strife!

Fletcher Pratt The Blue StarThe Blue Star — (1952) Publisher: The alternate Earth of “The Blue Star” is no home to swashbucklers or soldiers. It’s a carefully worked out society, approximating the 18th-century Austro-Hungarian Empire. In this world, gunpowder has not been discovered, but magic works. The Empire centered around the city of Netzigon is corrupt, collapsing, decadent, and basically tiresome. The novel follows the adventures of Rodvard Bergelin, who begins as an ineffecutal, milquetoast government clerk and becomes embroiled in a massive plot to pull the Empire down and rebuild a free society. Great Stuff! Originally published by Twaine in 1952. This is the first paperback appearance, one of the early entries in the “Adult Fantasy” series that Lin Carter constructed for Ballantine Books.

Eric Nylund science fiction book reviews Resisters 1. The Resisters 2. Sterling Squadron 3. Titan Base 4. Operation InfernoThe Undying Fire — (1953) Publisher: Space pilot Paulsson was in trouble. He had been accused of dereliction of duty. He knew it wasn’t true, but he also knew there was no point in fighting back directly. The only was to re-instate himself was to make a successful expedition to the young planet Danaan. And whether he could do that, no one knew. Least of all Paulsson…Eric Nylund science fiction book reviews Resisters 1. The Resisters 2. Sterling Squadron 3. Titan Base 4. Operation Inferno

Invaders from Rigel — (1960) Publisher: Science fiction adventure novel, expanded from a story which appeared in a pulp magazine in the 30’s. First published in book form in 1960, this is the Airmont paperback, which remained in print from 1964 through 1980.

Eric Nylund science fiction book reviews Resisters 1. The Resisters 2. Sterling Squadron 3. Titan Base 4. Operation InfernoAlien Planet — (1962) Publisher: First published in hardcover in 1962, this novel is an expansion of “A Voice Across the Years,” a story first published in Amazing Stories Quarterly, Winter 1932. Two Earthmen [Merrick Wells and Alvin Schierstedt] meet Ashembe of Murashema, who has come from beyond the stars on an urgent mission.


More by L. Sprague de Camp & Fletcher Pratt

the carnelian cube fletcher pratt l sprage de campThe Carnelian Cube — (1948) L. Sprague de Camp with Fletcher Pratt. Publisher: Arthur Cleveland Finch scoffed at the thought that the Carnelian Cube was a dream-stone — until, with that curiously inscribed ancient charm beneath his head, he sleeps that night and awakens… in another world…