The Prey of Gods: Two takes on this imaginative and compelling story

Readers’ average rating: Comment Reviews for this post are disabled. Please enable it first

The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden science fiction book reviewsThe Prey of Gods by Nicky DraydenThe Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden

The Prey of Gods (2017), by Nicky Drayden, takes a well-worn concept — what if gods walked among regular humans? — and breathes new life into it through her innovative uses of location, technology, mythology, and complex characters in this blend of real-world problems and fantastical situations.

Life is pretty great in futuristic Port Elizabeth, South Africa (so long as you’ve got money); people have access to genetically-engineered pets, personal robots with varying degrees of intelligence and capability, and solar wells that draw both energy and moisture from the air. When a long-forgotten demigoddess currently styling herself as Sydney sees an opportunity to restore her former glory and supremacy, just as a powerful new hallucinogenic hits the streets, it sparks a tidal wave of change that will touch everyone in Port Elizabeth, and their survival rests in the hands of an unlikely group of people: Nomvula, a young girl with recently-discovered supernatural powers; Muzi, a teen struggling with his modern identity against his grandfather’s traditions; pop star Riya Natrajan, hiding a fair number of secrets behind her gleaming smile; and Councilman Wallace Stoker, trying to cope with issues ranging from an exploding dik-dik population to a mausoleum’s worth of skeletons in his closet.

The Prey of Gods has a small ensemble cast, initially quite discrete, but gradually drawn tightly together in unexpected ways. Drayden takes her time in showing who these people are and where they come from (both in terms of physical location and family background), which then leads into why they each react to their changing world in different ways. The battle of wills between Nomvula and Sydney is especially well-written, exploring the tension between past and future, and the methodology of the AI uprising was quite clever, though it progressed a little too quickly to have as much of an individual impact as I was hoping for.

Drayden’s vision of a futuristic South Africa is a fascinating one, influenced by a college trip she took there shortly after the end of apartheid. In many ways, the mentions of designer-gene pets and personal robots might seem to be par for the course, but Drayden maintains a constant awareness of South Africa’s tumultuous history and the ways in which blood and power would echo forward, affecting everything from politics to race relations to economic disparity. This ever-present background hum, as it were, morphs The Prey of Gods from a good piece of speculative fiction to something more interesting, more significant. And her inclusion of an invented-but-plausible creation story and ensuing mythology was an especially nice touch, particularly as those myths are revisited at various points in the novel.

The conclusion feels rushed — there are some character shifts and actions that could have used more explanation in order to feel fully logical — but as a whole, The Prey of Gods is exciting and captivating. I look forward to reading more from Nicky Drayden. Highly recommended.

Nicky Drayden

~Jana Nyman


The Prey of Gods by Nicky DraydenSet in an optimistic near-future of benevolent technology and human achievement, The Prey of Gods is the story of a mixed-blood Xhosa Muzikayisa McCarthy, demigoddess Sydney Mazwai, South African Councilman Wallace Stoker, pop star Riya Natrajan, and Nomvula, a young country girl weighed down by the pains of her family. Given how diverse this cast is (in many different ways), it’s almost inevitable that much of the conflict is internal and emotional, and I think Nicky Drayden has done an excellent job meshing these personalities together in her debut novel. That’s not to say that there’s no action, though: Muzi, Sydney, Stoker, Riya, and Nomvula have some epic battle scenes together in war involving magic, technology, and religious spirits.

For me, the worldbuilding is one of the most fascinating parts of The Prey of Gods. Drayden’s debut weaves magic and technology together in a way reminiscent of Charlie Jane AndersAll the Birds in the Sky. By incorporating ancient magics into a futuristic, pseudo-utopian world, Drayden roots her magic system in local theology and mythology, which not only makes the world so much richer but also makes the story much more compelling. For low-urban fantasy as a genre, I think The Prey of Gods is a decent example of how to build a magic system rooted in the Earth-world.

Unfortunately, The Prey of Gods does have a few weaknesses, and most are in plot execution. One of the biggest downfalls for me is the prose. Many scenes just seem clumsily written — for example, this sex scene:

Underneath a curt smile, [Riya] cusses his name. Every hetero male over the age of thirteen and a half would die to get into her jewel-studded panties. Rife makes her beg for the privilege. She doesn’t beg long though — not after she guides his hand up her sculpted thigh, fingers navigating around lace and rhinestone until he’s knuckle-deep inside her.

 

“Please,” she moans, lips barely giving breath to the word. It angers Riya that he has this effect on her — but in all fairness, Rife knows a thing or two about addiction.

 

And now he fills her up, both literally and figuratively, their flesh occupying the same space in a slick dance of primal urges. Her fingertips slip across the muscles of his bare chest and then glide down the ripples of his abdomen, traveling over the scars of his livelihood so boldly on display … unlike all of hers, hidden neatly away. He’s as tough as they get, but now he’s gentle. Too gentle. She tells him so.

Not only do the euphemisms in this scene clash with the rather blunt, graphic prose in the rest of The Prey of Gods, the prose gives away too much about Drayden’s characters. There shouldn’t be a need for Drayden to come straight out and tell us that Riya has “hidden” scars or that Rife is “gentle.” These are all qualities that the reader can discover for herself by watching these characters interact with each other. By so explicitly laying out these characters’ personalities, Drayden almost seems to be sabotaging scenes in other parts of her work — why do scenes that showcase Riya’s scars or Rife’s gentleness exist if Drayden is going to tell us about these traits? In my book, this is a major flaw in The Prey of Gods because it makes Drayden’s characters feel one-dimensional and predictable.

All in all, The Prey of Gods was a fun, quick read with some interesting ideas. Unfortunately, it’s not brilliant enough for me to recommend wholeheartedly — there are just too many other books out there.

~Kevin Wei

Published June 13, 2017. From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark humor. In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. And in the bustling coastal town of Port Elizabeth, the economy is booming thanks to the genetic engineering industry which has found a welcome home there. Yes—the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is, if they can survive the present challenges: A new hallucinogenic drug sweeping the country… An emerging AI uprising… And an ancient demigoddess hellbent on regaining her former status by preying on the blood and sweat (but mostly blood) of every human she encounters. It’s up to a young Zulu girl powerful enough to destroy her entire township, a queer teen plagued with the ability to control minds, a pop diva with serious daddy issues, and a politician with even more serious mommy issues to band together to ensure there’s a future left to worry about. Fun and fantastic, Nicky Drayden takes her brilliance as a short story writer and weaves together an elaborate tale that will capture your heart… even as one particular demigoddess threatens to rip it out.

SHARE:  Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail  FOLLOW:  Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinrsstumblr
If you plan to buy this book, you can support FanLit by clicking on the book cover above and buying it (and anything else) at Amazon. It costs you nothing extra, but Amazon pays us a small referral fee. Click any book cover or this link. We use this income to keep the site running. It pays for website hosting, postage for giveaways, and bookmarks and t-shirts. Thank you!

JANA NYMAN, with us since January 2015, is a freelance copy-editor who has lived all over the United States, but recently settled in Colorado with her dog and a Wookiee. Jana was exposed to science fiction and fantasy at an early age, watching Star Wars and Star Trek movie marathons with her family and reading works by Robert Heinlein and Ray Bradbury WAY before she was old enough to understand them; thus began a lifelong fascination with what it means to be human. Jana enjoys reading all kinds of books, but her particular favorites are fairy- and folktales (old and new), fantasy involving dragons or other mythological beasties, contemporary science fiction, and superhero fiction. Some of her favorite authors are Bradbury, James Tiptree, Jr., Madeleine L'Engle, and Philip Pullman.

View all posts by

KEVIN WEI, with us since December 2014, is an undergrad at Columbia University. Secretly, Kevin has always believed in dragons. Not the Smaug kind of dragon, only the friendly ones that invite you in for tea. This might just be because Funke’s Dragon Rider was the story that mercilessly hauled him into the depths of the SFF genre at the ripe old age of 5. His literary tastes range from epic fantasy to military fantasy to New Weird, although sometimes he does enjoy a good space opera here and there, and some of his favorite authors include Patrick Rothfuss, George R.R. Martin, Neil Gaiman, China Miéville, Django Wexler, and Joe Abercrombie. To Kevin, a good book requires not only a good character set and storyline, but also beautiful prose — he is extremely discriminating as it pertains to this last bit. Outside of his bibliophilic life, Kevin loves economics, philosophy, policy debate, classical music, and political science. You can find him at: www.kevinwei.me

View all posts by

2 comments

  1. Putting on my list.

Review this book and/or Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *