Half-Witch: Wonderfully creative though marred by plotting

Half-Witch by John Schoffstall YA young adult fantasy book reviewsHalf-Witch by John SchoffstallHalf-Witch by John Schoffstall

Appropriately enough, I’m of mixed mind about John Schoffstall’s Half-Witch (2018), which is itself about a young girl who is part one thing, part another, moving through a world that is also a kind of collage, a strange admixture of building blocks.

For most of her 14 years, Lizbet Lenz has been forced to flee one home after another as her lovable con-artist father finds yet another way to turn the residents against them. But when he accidentally causes a rain of mice, he is imprisoned by the powerful Margrave before they have a chance to flee, leading Lizbet to undertake a seemingly impossible quest to travel with a young witch over the never-crossed Montagnes du Monde in search of a magical talisman desperately sought by the Margrave.

The world Schoffstall creates is wonderfully creative and whimsically eclectic, set in a Holy Roman Empire time period that takes much of medieval Christian theology literally. The Holy Trinity exists and communicates directly with people during Communion, though if they seem a bit distracted it’s because the war between Heaven and Hell, between the Trinity and its angels and Belial and his demons and devils, is touch and go. The world is also inhabited by goblins and witches. While there is some overlap, the world is mostly divided into a human side and a magical side, separated by those aforementioned Montagnes du Monde.

Witches, as Lizbet’s companion Strix, tells her, “make things. We break things apart. We make new things out of the pieces.” Strix herself was made by her master out of “dead leaves, cinnamon, twine, old teabags, wire and beans and shells … a book about fishing … tax rolls, broadsides, a pamphlet by a mad Englishman … “ Witches can also pull out, save, and transfer the interior qualities of people, such as lust, peace, empathy, and others. Meanwhile, the Trinity is surprisingly folksy, with God, for instance, telling Lizbet, “I’ve got devils coming out of my wazoo, and the Galilee Kid is running around turning the other cheek … whipping moneychangers … He turned one devil into an olive tree. One single devil … I raised such a klutz.”

John Schoffstall

There’s a Baum-like feel to many of Schoffstall’s creativity, though it’s all highly original in its details: drawbridges that rise and drop on “gray beating goose wings,” earth-witches who live belowground and hunger for corpses, a pair of feathery aides, a demon who was “an immense maggot … but with the face of a prosperous middle-aged man with puffy sideburns and an extravagant mustache,” another demon who feeds on words in books, and more.

The plot is picaresque, a series of encounters as Lizbet and Strix continue on their quest, meeting demons, the Pope of Storms, the Pixie Queen, and others. Honestly, this was the weakest part of Half-Witch for me, with few of the encounters being particularly compelling or even interesting (there were some exceptions), and that plus the episodic structure made the book drag and feel overlong.

More interesting by far than the plotting was the characterization, with both young girls compelling in their own right, but especially in their changing relationship with one another. Both are fierce-willed, though in different ways, and their companionship — forced on them at the start — begins with a lot of bickering and misunderstanding. But as they spend more time together, much of it in crisis mode, they each change (physically and emotionally) as they form a true friendship whose poignant sincerity is the moving, beating heart of this novel.

One caveat is that for a YA novel, there’s some relatively adult references in the story, such as discussion of witches’ “carnal relations,” a banished demon that “jammed its head into its own anus,” and others, as well as some darkly violent moments, and several intensely emotional scenes.

Half-Witch resolves the main quest and could easily end as it does, but it also leaves clear room for a sequel. If the issues of plotting and pacing could be improved on, I’d love to see where Schoffstall’s inventive mind takes us next.

Published in 2018. NPR Best Books of the Year. In the world in which Lizbet Lenz lives, the sun still goes around the earth, God speaks directly to his worshippers, goblins haunt every cellar and witches lurk in the forests. Disaster strikes when Lizbet’s father Gerhard, a charming scoundrel, is thrown into a dungeon by the tyrant Hengest Wolftrow. To free him, Lizbet must cross the Montagnes du Monde, globe-girdling mountains that reach to the sky, a journey no one has ever survived, and retrieve a mysterious book. Lizbet is desperate, and the only one who can help her is the unpleasant and sarcastic witch girl Strix. As the two girls journey through the mountains and into the lands of wonder beyond, on the run from goblins, powerful witches, and human criminals, Lizbet discovers, to her horror, that Strix’s magic is turning Lizbet into a witch, too. Meanwhile, a revolution in Heaven is brewing.

SHARE:  Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinteresttumblrmail  FOLLOW:  Facebooktwittergoogle_plusrsstumblr
If you plan to buy this book, you can support FanLit by clicking on the book cover above and buying it (and anything else) at Amazon. It costs you nothing extra, but Amazon pays us a small referral fee. Click any book cover or this link. We use this income to keep the site running. It pays for website hosting, postage for giveaways, and bookmarks and t-shirts. Thank you!

BILL CAPOSSERE, who's been with us since June 2007, lives in Rochester NY, where he is an English adjunct by day and a writer by night. His essays and stories have appeared in Colorado Review, Rosebud, Alaska Quarterly, and other literary journals, along with a few anthologies, and been recognized in the "Notable Essays" section of Best American Essays. His children's work has appeared in several magazines, while his plays have been given stage readings at GEVA Theatre and Bristol Valley Playhouse. When he's not writing, reading, reviewing, or teaching, he can usually be found with his wife and son on the frisbee golf course or the ultimate frisbee field.

View all posts by

One comment

  1. Paul Connelly /

    One of my favorite reads from last year. Not sure how you would market it…maybe, “Perfect for fans of Hieronymous Bosch and Alice in Wonderland!” But that might not go over well in the YA space. It definitely had some grotesque moments, many more funny ones, and a whole lot of heart.

Review this book and/or Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *