Good Morning, Midnight: Your book club might enjoy this

Good Morning, Midnight by Lily Brooks-DaltonGood Morning, Midnight by Lily Brooks-DaltonGood Morning, Midnight by Lily Brooks-Dalton

Lily Brooks-Dalton’s general fiction novel, Good Morning, Midnight (2017), is literary in nature but uses speculative elements to contemplate isolation, hope, despair and human connection. The book has beautiful prose, especially in some of the descriptions of the arctic, and interesting insights into human nature, but it was not a completely satisfying book for me. In a few places, the hand of the author can be seen forcing events in order to make the story work, and some of these tropes, particularly the literary ones, felt too familiar. Still, it’s worth checking out for the writing alone.

Good Morning, Midnight follows two characters who are about as far apart spacially as one can imagine. Augustine is an astronomer who has remained behind at an arctic observatory site after it has been evacuated. To his surprise, after the evacuation craft have left, he discovers a girl, about nine years old, hiding in the compound. Meanwhile, Sully is an astronaut on a human-staffed spacecraft Aether, sent to study the Jovian moons. They are now on their trip home, but Earth has been radio-silent for months now, and Sully grows increasingly worried about her family and all of earth for that matter.

The backdrop of this moody story is the silence of Earth, the sense of some catastrophe. Augie evinces little to no curiosity about what might have happened. He is at heart a loner, a broken individual who was most alive at his work. Now nearly eighty, he is alone except for a self-sufficient child, and spends days looking back over his life, his successes and failures. He also confronts day to day life in the arctic, watching the progress of a polar bear and once confronting an arctic wolf. The base is well stocked with fuel and packaged food, and he thinks he and the little girl, Iris, can live there for many years.

Aboard Aether, Sully and her five companions grow increasingly fearful about what the silence from Earth portends. Each faces, or flees, the problem in different ways; camaraderie begins to break down. This part of Good Morning, Midnight was especially convincing to me. Like the reader, the astronauts know nothing of what might have happened, except that it can’t be good. In Sully’s case, she not only worries about her family, but feels that the meaning of their mission has retroactively been stripped away; the wonders they bring back from Jupiter will have no meaning if there are no people.

Lily Brooks-Dalton

With one jarring exception that threw me right out of the story, the sections aboard Aether were the most interesting, probably because there were several characters, and they did things. Augustine’s story seemed to grind along with a lot of repetition, since he was replaying his life in his head. I believe this is how most of us actually do think, but it can get a little dull on the page. The sections we see with Augustine’s mother were compelling and authentic, but I found his career less believable.

Early in Good Morning, Midnight I formulated theories about how Sully and Augustine’s lives might intersect, and exactly who the little girl was, and my theories were proven correct with no surprises. Near the end, Augustine reveals a darker side to himself, but it didn’t seem that plausible to me. I had trouble believing, even in a literary novel, that a seventy-eight-year-old man would have been invited to a program in this harsh environment in the first place. That may be a bias of mine, but the book never overcame it for me.

Augustine’s decision near the end to try to reach out to the world via radio convinced me, though. He arrives at it slowly, and we see that this isn’t the first time he has tried to make things right, but once again he’s left it too long, and it’s too late.

Aboard the Aether, I was suspending disbelief with little trouble until Sully and another astronaut take an EVA to repair a piece of equipment. I found the sequence of events implausible, knocking me out of the story and making it difficult to trust the writer and reengage. A Marie-Celeste-style sequence aboard the International Space Station created the same skepticism, but fortunately that scene happens very close to the end, where I was already invested enough to keep going.

There is beautiful work here but overall, for me, it didn’t meld into a cohesive whole. This appears to be Brooks-Dalton’s first long work of fiction. Her previous book was a memoir and most of her short work looks like nonfiction as well. She is a talented writer whose commitment and work on the details shows here. While Good Morning, Midnight was not a complete success for me, I would recommend this book for a book club because the ideas explored here are thought-provoking and universal.

Ignore the comparisons to Emily St John Mandel’s Station Eleven. While they share some tropes they are nothing alike.

Published in 2017. For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton’s haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders—a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth—as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SHELF AWARENESS AND THE CHICAGO REVIEW OF BOOKS • COLSON WHITEHEAD’S FAVORITE BOOK OF 2016 (Esquire). Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the Arctic, news of a catastrophic event arrives. The scientists are forced to evacuate, but Augustine stubbornly refuses to abandon his work. Shortly after the others have gone, Augustine discovers a mysterious child, Iris, and realizes that the airwaves have gone silent. They are alone. At the same time, Mission Specialist Sullivan is aboard the Aether on its return flight from Jupiter. The astronauts are the first human beings to delve this deep into space, and Sully has made peace with the sacrifices required of her: a daughter left behind, a marriage ended. So far the journey has been a success. But when Mission Control falls inexplicably silent, Sully and her crewmates are forced to wonder if they will ever get home. As Augustine and Sully each face an uncertain future against forbidding yet beautiful landscapes, their stories gradually intertwine in a profound and unexpected conclusion. In crystalline prose, Good Morning, Midnight poses the most important questions: What endures at the end of the world? How do we make sense of our lives? Lily Brooks-Dalton’s captivating debut is a meditation on the power of love and the bravery of the human heart.

SHARE:  Facebooktwitterredditpinteresttumblrmail  FOLLOW:  Facebooktwitterrsstumblr
If you plan to buy this book, you can support FanLit by clicking on the book cover above and buying it (and anything else) at Amazon. It costs you nothing extra, but Amazon pays us a small referral fee. Click any book cover or this link. We use this income to keep the site running. It pays for website hosting, postage for giveaways, and bookmarks and t-shirts. Thank you!

Marion Deeds, with us since March, 2011, is the author of the fantasy novella ALUMINUM LEAVES. Her short fiction has appeared in the anthologies BEYOND THE STARS, THE WAND THAT ROCKS THE CRADLE, STRANGE CALIFORNIA, and in Podcastle, The Noyo River Review, Daily Science Fiction and Flash Fiction Online. She’s retired from 35 years in county government, and spends some of her free time volunteering at a second-hand bookstore in her home town. You can read her blog at deedsandwords.com, and follow her on Twitter: @mariond_d.

View all posts by

2 comments

  1. After comparing the two book covers, I’d say they were definitely going for a “Station Eleven” vibe.

Review this book and/or Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *