Diary of a Haunting: Great concept, but uneven execution

fantasy book reviews science fiction book reviewsDiary of a Haunting by M. Verano fantasy book reviews horrorDiary of a Haunting by M. Verano

The conceit behind Diary of a Haunting is that M. Verano is an associate professor at a university in Idaho who has devoted his life to “editing a series of first-person narratives” which demonstrate instances of occult or paranormal incidents. “Montague Verano” is a pseudonym used to lend authenticity to the framing device for this narrative, which purports to be a collection of journal entries from a turbulent six-month period in the life of a teenaged girl. Naturally, the reader is assured that pertinent details like names have been changed to protect affected individuals.

Possession (Diary of a Haunting) Kindle Edition by M. Verano (Author)

Book 2

Paige, her scientifically-minded younger brother Logan, and their mother have just relocated from sunny L.A. to dreary small-town Idaho following a much-publicized divorce. Mom, a modern-day hippie, will be studying “natural resource conservation” at the local university. The house she’s rented (sight unseen) is a huge, old, creepy Victorian that used to be the town’s hospital/morgue, and possibly the locus of a cult. Paige can’t seem to decide whether Idaho is a punishment or a chance to start over with a new high school crowd. The primary outlet for her frustrations is a private online journal where she documents events and conversations from January to June of an unspecified year. As time goes on, the entries become increasingly strange — both in their execution and in terms of what Paige describes — and it becomes clear to her that something is very wrong, even if her family won’t take her seriously.

The strangeness starts out benignly enough: several cans of spaghetti sauce in the pantry, though only a few were purchased at the grocery store. A missing sweater turns up in the wrong closet beside two identical sweaters that couldn’t have been picked up locally. A bag of groceries appears suddenly on the kitchen floor. Cell phones send or receive duplicate texts, and Paige’s journal repeats posts without her knowledge. Gradually, more oddities are layered in as their TV goes on the fritz, the Internet won’t work, and an infestation of both flies and spiders inexplicably increases. Logan stops sleeping and spends his nights in front of the television, convinced that he’s playing video games when there’s nothing but static on the screen. Though Logan and her mom laugh everything off as the interference of friendly spirits, Paige isn’t convinced, and neither was I.

One of my least favorite horror tropes is when characters don’t react to extra-ordinary circumstances, in order to allow the author draw out tension and delay the reveal of whatever is lurking behind a corner or within the shadows. I understand that it’s being used in Diary of a Haunting to prove that Paige is “normal” and her mother is “flighty,” but I found it bothersome and unrealistic. If a person in the real world opened up a pantry door and discovered outlandishly increased quantities of food, they’d ask a few questions about where it all came from, or at least feel a measure of confusion. Since the reader only has Paige’s perspective, it’s impossible to get a sense for more to her mother’s behavior and rationale. Limiting the perspective to Paige didn’t allow for the kind of character development I would have liked to see, especially when an entire family is supposedly being affected by bumps in the night. By the time any other characters question Paige’s account of events, so much time had been spent establishing the singular validity of her narrative that I had no context for their objections. A narrator’s unreliability only counts if the reader has something or someone to judge it against; otherwise we have no reason not to accept it as fact.

Book of Shadows (Diary of a Haunting) Kindle Edition by M. Verano (Author)

Book 3

The format of the novel itself isn’t consistent, which is distracting, because when the journal entries are just Paige’s thoughts and reactions to events or people, the voice is convincing. She sounds like a teenaged girl whose life has been upended and whose family seems to be suddenly full of strangers. When she’s recounting events and long conversations word-for-word, to the point of adding dialogue tags and seeming to know what other characters are feeling, it becomes very obvious that Diary of a Haunting is a novel. It was impossible for me to maintain immersion in the text or suspend my disbelief for longer than a few pages at a time, which negated any of the creepy atmosphere that the novel is aiming at. The inclusion of “artsy” photographs also detracted from the mood because they’re out of context or have undergone obvious digital alteration. Perspective lines don’t match up between walls and doors, fabric patterns are oddly placed, and the photos end up looking more like collages than representative slices-of-life.

The house itself was well-described, and the disturbances to the family’s domestic life were genuinely creepy. It seemed near the end like there was a solid, credible answer for the odd events, one I would have been happy to accept, but it was jettisoned in favor of a big twist and over-reaching drama. In order for the twist to be plausible, the reader has to believe in mystical conduits and spiritual inheritance, and the plot just didn’t hang together well enough for me to think it was the right choice.

Ultimately, Diary of a Haunting is supposed to be a horror novel, but didn’t provide enough chills to satisfy me. The diary conceit isn’t well-executed or consistent, the narrator isn’t unreliable enough to make her plotline or character arc plausible, and the explanation for the supernatural occurrences seemed tacked on. The pseudo-academia angle and persona of “M. Verano” could have been played to good effect, but wasn’t utilized enough or effectively. Instead of likening this novel to The Blair Witch Project, a better match might be that movie’s poorly-received and gimmicky sequel, Book of Shadows.

Published August 25, 2015. In the tradition of Paranormal Activity and The Blair Witch Project, an American teen recounts the strange events that occur after she moves into a new—and very haunted—home with her family in this chilling diary that features photos and images of what she experienced. Letters, photographs, and a journal…all left behind in the harrowing aftermath. Following her parents’ high-profile divorce, Paige and her brother are forced to move to Idaho with their mother, and Paige doesn’t have very high hopes for her new life. The small town they’ve moved to is nothing compared to the life she left behind in LA. And the situation is made even worse by the drafty old mansion they’ve rented that’s filled with spiders and plenty of other pests that Paige can’t even bear to imagine. Pretty soon, strange things start to happen around the house—one can of ravioli becomes a dozen, unreadable words start appearing on the walls, and Paige’s little brother begins roaming the house late at night. And there’s something not right about the downstairs neighbor who seems to know a lot more than he’s letting on. Things only get creepier when she learns about the cult that conducted experimental rituals in the house almost one hundred years earlier. The more Paige investigates, the clearer it all becomes: there’s something in the house, and whatever it is…and it won’t be backing down without a fight.

SHARE:  Facebooktwitterredditpinteresttumblrmail  FOLLOW:  Facebooktwitterrsstumblr
If you plan to buy this book, you can support FanLit by clicking on the book cover above and buying it (and anything else) at Amazon. It costs you nothing extra, but Amazon pays us a small referral fee. Click any book cover or this link. We use this income to keep the site running. It pays for website hosting, postage for giveaways, and bookmarks and t-shirts. Thank you!

JANA NYMAN, with us since January 2015, is a freelance copy-editor who has lived all over the United States, but now makes her home in Colorado with her dog and a Wookiee. Jana was exposed to science fiction and fantasy at an early age, watching Star Wars and Star Trek movie marathons with her family and reading works by Robert Heinlein and Ray Bradbury WAY before she was old enough to understand them; thus began a lifelong fascination with what it means to be human. Jana enjoys reading all kinds of books, but her particular favorites are fairy- and folktales (old and new), fantasy involving dragons or other mythological beasties, contemporary science fiction, and superhero fiction. Some of her favorite authors are James Tiptree, Jr., Madeleine L'Engle, Ann Leckie, N.K. Jemisin, and Seanan McGuire.

View all posts by

5 comments

  1. What the internet won’t work? Jana, that is a horror!

    I give the writer credit for trying, because I think this kind of thing is very hard to pull off. Have you read The Red Tree by Caitlin Kiernan? I think it’s the best example of this type of story that I’ve read.

Review this book and/or Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *