FanLit Asks: June 12, 2012

Some of your favorite authors take some time to answer our questions:

Got any news to share with us?Jennifer Armintrout Lightworld/Darkworld 1. Queene of Light 2. Child of Darkness 3. Veil of Shadows

Jennifer Armintrout: I’m very excited to be working with Resplendence Publishing on a series of shape-shifter romances centered around a clan of werewolves in an alternate fourteenth century England. My hope is to continue with these in several different time periods, all with wolves from the same clan.

fantasy book reviews science fiction book reviewsSteven R. Boyett: I just finished my first unsolicited short piece in over a decade, a novelette called “Hard Silver.” I’m stoked that Bill Schafer picked it up for his wonderful Subterranean (pub date not yet set). It was liberating to write something just for the sheer hell of it. It’s been way too long, and I think it has opened the door to doing more of the same. I tend to think too much about “Why are you writing this?” and forget that “Because it’s fun” is a perfectly legitimate answer.

Janny Wurts: Don Maitz [Janny’s husband] has a huge show opening at the Cornell Museum in West Palm Beach. It runs through October. Also, here’s the link for our new webstore for prints and artwork.fantasy book reviews science fiction book reviews

What are you working on these days?

Tim Pratt: I’m about to start work on a new standalone fantasy novel, Heirs of Grace, and I’m co-editing an anthology with Melissa Marr called Rags and Bones, featuring SF/fantasy retellings of classic stories by some of the field’s leading authors.

epic fantasy book reviews Bradley P. Beaulieu The Lays of Anuskaya 1. The Winds of Khalakovo 2. The Straits of GalaheshBradley Beaulieu: As I finish up the third book of THE LAYS OF ANUSKAYA, I’m tinkering with a new series, a tale in the vein of A Thousand and One Nights. The first book is called Twelve Kings in Sharakhai, and it’s about a woman, a pit fighter, who discovers the reasons behind her mother’s death may be linked to the very origin of the Twelve Kings, men who have ruled over the Great Desert for centuries. Once she’s been pulled into the mystery, she can’t get out, and the deeper she digs, the more it becomes clear that the way of life in the desert is about to change forever.

Read any good books lately?fantasy book reviews science fiction book reviews

Matthew Hughes: Recently, no. But everybody should read Jack Vance.

Stephen Deas: The Red Wolf Conspiracy by Robert Redick. It’s a marvelous fantasy filled with imagination. It’s the first of a series of four, the last of which is due out later this year, so need to wait for the whole series to finish.

Ellen Kushner Riverside 1. Swordspoint 2. The Tale of the Kings 3. The Privilege of the Sword Thomas the RhymerBlake Charlton: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. It was a a joy to read. Death, the narrator, lends a perfect and slightly alien voice to the story of a wonderfully drawn young woman protagonist and the remarkable, frightening time in which she lived. I also listened to the audiobook (produced by Neil Gaiman Presents) of Ellen Kushner’s Swordspoint. Being a big fan of performed fiction (read aloud or on stage) this perfectly casted and well edited audiobook was a delightful way to rediscover a fantasy that is somehow a combination of gritty, bloody, refined, and (every so slightly) foppish.

More news next week!


SHARE:  Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail  FOLLOW:  Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinrsstumblr

KAT HOOPER, who started this site in June 2007, earned a Ph.D. in neuroscience and psychology at Indiana University (Bloomington) and now teaches at the University of North Florida. When she reads fiction, she wants to encounter new ideas and lots of imagination. She wants to view the world in a different way. She wants to have her mind blown. She loves beautiful language and has no patience for dull prose, vapid romance, or cheesy dialogue. She prefers complex characterization, intriguing plots, and plenty of action. Favorite authors are Jack Vance, Robin Hobb, Kage Baker, William Gibson, Gene Wolfe, Richard Matheson, and C.S. Lewis.

View all posts by

One comment

  1. I agree, Mr. Hughes — everyone should read Jack Vance!!!

Review this book and/or Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Add your own review

Rating